To Pimp A Butterfly

Has forever changed the game, at least I hope.

His new album To “Pimp a Butterfly” is something that profoundly touches my soul with every song that penetrates my eardrums. From the vibrations of the funky beats and melodies that he wraps his profane yet deep lyrics over, my ears have eargasms as Outkast would say.  Every song reminds me that rap is poetry. For a moment I was having a hard time remembering that while listening to “artists” like Young Thug and Dej Loaf. His poetic lyrics over true music… music that our parents could vibe to makes my heart feel something inexplicable. I guess it’s the same feeling that music gave Bob Marley giving him the inclination to say “The good thing about music is that when it hits you, you feel no pain” K-Dot hits me hard, he hits that spot inside that I tend to ignore when it comes to my feelings as an African American and the history I know when it comes to this country, the struggles I see my people still going through, the reason behind those struggles and how we need to push through them. What’s beautiful is how he is using his platform for something greater than the mind numbing hits that infest our radios. He has found a way to express these woes of being black in America in such an intelligent way that every time I listen to a song I uncover yet another layer… If that makes sense. It’s one thing to rant about your feelings and put them all out there blunt and to the point then find a beat to go with it but it’s another to put those feeling in a form that needs to be evaluated, pondered, studied… that’s poetry, that’s art, that’s To Pimp a Butterfly.

“I want you to get angry — I want you to get happy,” he said. “I want you to feel disgusted. I want you to feel uncomfortable.” – Kendrick Lamar

This is not a formal review of the album I honestly have some deep feelings about his music and I felt like I really needed to write this down. I don’t feel this way about albums often… matter of fact I put this up there with “The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill” which is pretty damn great. So if you have not purchased “To Pimp a Butterfly” or “The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill” please get both and have your life changed forever.

If you are looking for review I like this one from the NY Times.

Peace and Love,

Mo

Leave a Reply

